Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

My Leafs Blog

My Leafs Blog

I blog about the Leafs & current NHL matters. Want me to write about something? Let me know!


Landeskog Suspension

Posted on November 27 2017, 23:33pm

I recently received a request that I will write about quickly before going out the door this evening. The messaged I got was “What do you think of the Landeskog suspension that was just handed out? I’m not sure I agree.” So! Lets fire up my first non-Leaf take on here shall we?

 

As you see in the Youtube clip posted above, the cross check was nasty, and square on the button. I wasn’t quite sure about what the supplemental discipline was going to be when I originally watched it because who really knows with the Department of Player Safety. Maybe one game? Max fine? We all knew that he was going to get something, as he has a bit of a history with the NHL DoPS. We just weren't sure what. So lets take a look back at his two previous suspensions, and why they factor into this more recent 4-game ban of his.

 

In 2015, Landeskog skated across the ice to delivery a ruthless, late blindside hit to Bruins forward Brad Marchand. The hit was eerily similar to that of the one that ended Marc Savard’s career.  Fortunately the outcomes were very different as Marchard was uninjured in the Play. This hit resulted in a 2 game suspension for Landeskog.

 

 

Marchard was quoted as saying

“Things happen quick. I know that I’ve been there. I’m sure [Landeskog] didn’t mean it. I don’t think he’s a dirty player. It’s hockey. It is what it is.”

 

The next incident that caused Landeskog a suspension was in 2016, when Landeskog skated through his defensive zone, and cross-checked a vulnerable Simon Despres in the side of the head. Again, very fortunately, Despres was not injured, but even Landeskog acknowledged the fact that it was a very stupid play. This resulted in a 3-game ban for the Avs Captain.

 

 

Landeskog was quoted:

“There’s not excuse, it was a dumb play. Watching the videos, there’s simply no excuse”

 

Landeskog was right, hit his was stupid. They both were. We can now add a 3rd stupid play to this folder, as the cross-check to Tkachuk could be classified as the stupidest of the 3.

 

My Take:

I whole-heartedly disagree with Marchard that Landeskog isn’t a dirty player. I love me some players who play right on the line. Those annoying, rugged pest type players like Marchand (who is also known to cross over the line) Brendan Gallagher & Nazem Kadri. They’re fun to watch. When you cross-check TWO players in the side of the face, and target a players head on a knowingly late hit, you’re either dirty, or just plain stupid, and with the type of smarts Landeskog has, there is no excuse for any of these plays. ESPECIALLY the two most recent cross-checks. He is a dirty player, and probably should have gotten 5+ games for a blatant attempt to injure. I enjoy the Avs, and hope they become good again soon, but losing their 3rd leading scorer, and on-ice leader is a very big blow to their team.  His teammates, coaches, management & the Avs fanbase need better from their Captain.

 

Cheers!

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post

Blog archives

We are social!

Recent posts